Diversity and Inclusion in the Woodruff School


Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council Statement

In the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, our commitment to developing leaders who advance technology and improve the human condition is guided by our core values. The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council of faculty, staff and students was established to ensure this commitment. A culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion is core to the School. The breadth of our discipline and its potential for societal impact can only be fully realized by, and in turn benefit from, fostering and growing the diversity and equitable treatment of our community and promoting inclusive engagement among our members. We are devoted to enhancing and celebrating the diversity of our people, ideas, experiences, and perspectives that make up our School. Our diversity is what makes us stronger as a whole. Throughout our journey in working toward our mission, we devote our work to ensuring our School is a place where every individual feels welcome and belongs, differences are celebrated, a variety of perspectives are heard and respected, and various ideas further contribute to our progress and service. We are dedicated to challenging and responding to any issues that may contradict our core values of diversity, equity and inclusion, including bias, harassment, and discrimination. The diversity of our students, faculty, and staff is the cornerstone of our culture and will remain a foundation of our future achievements.

DEI Council Members


Haley Hilborn, Grad ME
Bijee Jackson, Undergrad ME, Recorder
Anastasia Schauer, MEGA
Peter Sobel, Grad NRE
Morgan Wright, Undergrad ME

Ex Officio

Reporting a DEI Incident

To report a DEI-related incident please contact the Georgia Tech Ethics and Compliance Hotline. Reports can be made anonymously. 

Submit Suggestions and Ideas

If you have ideas or strategies that will help improve the Woodruff School as it relates to DEI and our push towards Inclusive Excellence, we want to hear from you. Please send us your messages.

Email the Committee