Samuel Graham Named to Georgia Tech Presidential Search Committee

Samuel Graham, the Eugene C. Gwaltney Jr. School Chair, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, has been named to the Georgia Institute of Technology Presidential Search Committee which will conduct a national search to replace Georgia Tech President G.P. “Bud” Peterson, who will retire as president this summer. Dr. Graham earned his M.S. and Ph. D. at Georgia Tech, has been a member of the faculty since 2003, and became chair of the Woodruff School on July 1, 2018.

Woodruff School alumnus Thomas E. Noonan ('83) was also named to the committee. Mr. Noonan is the chairman of TEN Holdings LLC. 


Georgia Tech Press Release

Board of Regents Crest

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) today named members of the Georgia Institute of Technology Presidential Search Committee. The committee will conduct a national search to replace Georgia Tech President G.P. “Bud” Peterson, who will retire as president this summer.

“President Peterson has set records in research, enrollment and fundraising while leading Georgia Tech for the past decade,” Chancellor Steve Wrigley said. “I’m grateful for the members of the search committee who are dedicating their time and energy towards securing a bright future and talented leadership for Georgia Tech. We expect Georgia Tech’s next president to lead its world-class faculty, staff and students to even greater heights.”
Members of the Presidential Search Committee include:
  • Regent Ben J. Tarbutton III, committee chair
  • Regent C. Dean Alford
  • Regent Laura Marsh
  • Regent Sarah-Elizabeth Reed
  • Regent Sachin Shailendra
  • Regent Thomas Rogers Wade
  • Regent Don L. Waters, chairman, Board of Regents
  • Joeleen Akin, associate athletic director, Georgia Tech Athletic Association
  • Richard Barke, Ph.D., associate professor and director of undergraduate studies, School of Public Policy, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts
  • Nisha D. Botchwey, Ph.D. associate professor, School of City and Regional Planning, College of Design
  • John F. Brock III, CEO, Coca-Cola European Partners (retired); chair, Brock Holdings LLC
  • David Brown, Facilities Infrastructure and Power Plant; chair, Georgia Tech Staff Council
  • Andrew Cox, president, Graduate Student Government Association
  • Evan Gillon, president, Undergraduate Student Government Association
  • Samuel Graham, Ph.D., chair, Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Joseph L. A. Hughes, Ph.D., professor, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering; chair, Faculty Executive Board
  • Charles Isbell Jr., Ph.D., professor and executive associate dean, College of Computing
  • Michelle Jarrard, senior partner (retired), McKinsey & Company; board member, Lazard Inc., board member, Crawford & Company
  • Julia Kubanek, Ph.D., professor and associate dean, School of Biological Sciences, College of Sciences
  • Thomas E. Noonan, chairman, TEN Holdings LLC
  • Harold R. Reynolds, CEO, BankSouth
  • Beril Toktay, Ph.D., professor of operations management, Scheller College of Business